Busy Bee

25 Nov

The past few months have literally kept me at my busiest.  I don’t think I’ve ever had to keep track of so many things at once- classes, my job, my club, my money, my social life- the list could go on forever.  This past semester I guess you could say I took a mini-break from Soph’s Kitchen… but that doesn’t mean I took a break from cooking!  Here’s a glimpse at what I’ve created in my last few weeks at home, as well as in my “big” [ehm- bigger than last year] kitchen in my dorm!

Image

One of my best friends came to visit me in July for the weekend.  This ice cream is only a fraction of what we indulged in…

Image

I made anginettes one evening.  Needless to say- they didn’t last very long.

Image

I wish I got a better picture of this banana pudding, but it was gone so quickly at the family reunion that I didn’t get the chance to snap another picture!  According to my relatives- I got it just right!  Such a compliment.

Image

While in Illinois, we went to this amazing chocolate shop (perhaps a little too fancy for the small town??) and I got a caramel inferno truffle.  It was topped with ghost chili powder. So delicious!!

Image

Back to school now- my roommate and a few friends went apple picking!  It was a gorgeous day and despite going late in the season, we saw this happy camper hanging on one of the trees.

Image

The most drool-worthy homemade poptarts I’ve ever sunk my teeth into.

Image

The poptarts and this pulled pork sandwich are from Ted’s Bulletin, in Eastern Market.  My foodie friend and I went for brunch.  Such a good idea.

Image

Birthday cupcakes from my cousin’s family!  I think I actually ate all of them…

Image

Yet another foodie experience with my foodie friend.  This time, for my birthday, we indulged in the Tackle Box.  Now, I’m usually a seafood snob and don’t get seafood while I’m in DC.  I do, however, make an exception for the Tackle Box-  maybe it’s because they cheat and get their seafood from Maine! 😉

Image

A special birthday cupcake from the 9:30 Club!  Love being friends with benefits.

Image

Aren’t I just the most wonderful God-Big? My dove love drawing skills are clearly superb. Go SK!

Image

What’s better than brunching at Bread and Chocolate before studying for Organic Chemistry for hours on end?  Maybe some free coffee with the brunch… 😉

Image

Gospel Brunch anyone? Talk about Southern Comfort…

Image

Maybe the most exciting eating experience this semester… my friend and I waited a whole two weeks for our reservation at Toki Underground, a ramen restaurant in Northeast DC.  We got dumplings AND ramen because we were just that into it.

Image

Best. Ramen. Ever.

One Response to “Busy Bee”

  1. Masta Grilla November 25, 2013 at 10:15 pm #

    Mommmm, Gramma S’s famous banana pudding.

Leave a Reply

