Toffee Squares

25 Jun

I’ve been quite busy starting my new summer gig- I’m a research lab assistant at a hospital in Boston! Very excited to tap into my inner geek/mad scientist. Since Fridays are my days off (and I’m on vacation this week), I’ve decided to start a weekly baking session from the recipes in my Grandma Judy’s cookbook. There’s something so appealing about old-fashioned sweet treats. The simple yet mouth-watering flavors are hard to come by now that everything is processed and artificial (we’re basically eating plastic now, right?). I started off the project with toffee squares. A very simple and tasty bite-sized dessert definitely meant for sharing.

One interesting thing that I’ve come across in these hand-written recipes are discrepancies in ingredients or cook-times. The toffee square recipe called for dates, but the instructions magically reference nuts. I decided to try both!
20130625-172246.jpg

 

20130625-172254.jpg

What’s your preference?  I was torn between the two!

 
My dad, one of the Mastah Grillaz, took in both versions of the toffee squares to work for distribution- both were gone almost instantly and were tied in popularity.

I’m excited for the next recipe to try- butterscotch bars!

20130625-172228.jpg

I got impatient waiting for the molten chocolate to cool down so I stuck it in the fridge to speed up the process and to let me indulge sooner. 😉

 

20130625-172305.jpg

One Response to “Toffee Squares”

  1. Masta Grilla June 25, 2013 at 11:20 pm #

    The Lunch Room Gang loved the toffee squares. The more seasoned gentlemen in the crowd remembered their mothers or grandmothers baking this kind of treat, while the young men had never heard of such a thing – but loved it. Now they expect something from Soph’s Kitchen every Monday for the remainder of the summer. Keep baking!

Leave a Reply

